Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ    Donate    Amazon Affiliate

Board index » General




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 295 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 16, 17, 18, 19, 20
Author Message
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 3:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:35 pm
Posts: 889
Location: West Sussex ~ England
hmm, must be only a 'feature' in Safari as Vivaldi doesn't produce the same result here in El Capitan.

Well, there's a 'tip'

;)

_________________
Flickr

instagram

Your warning level: [ 1 ]


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:04 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 7:51 pm
Posts: 7102
Works in Vivaldi for me.

Highlight the word and choose "Look up" in the right-click menu.

_________________
I'm never wrong, I'm just less right on occasions.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:08 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 7:51 pm
Posts: 7102
Vivaldi now deleted. Hangs every time I quit it so goodbyeeeeee!

_________________
I'm never wrong, I'm just less right on occasions.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 12:25 pm
Posts: 1910
Free YouTube downloader I've only just discovered...

Change the word youtube in the URL to ssyoutube.

A commercial web page will load showing your video and its url, and inviting you to buy an app. Ignore that and look for the bit that says "But if you’re okay with slower download speed and limitations on file formats, feel free to download video in browser"

Job done.

_________________
"If it ain't broke, we can fix it" (© Tim Cook, Jonny Ive)

Core i5 2011 21.5" iMac 12,1 2.5 GHz 12GB RAM OS X 10.9.5


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 9:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 4:36 pm
Posts: 1363
Location: Warrington
Want to get the "Hand" tool back in Preview, in order to move a large document around?Just press Option/Alt +Spacebar and the pointer changes to a Hand.

_________________
Image
Home: PPC Mac Mini, 10.4.11, Intel Mac Mini 10.6.8, MacBook Pro(mid 2012): 12Gb, 10.12.6, White MacBook 10.8.4
iPhone 5S, iOS 11.3 Vodafone PAYG


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 12:25 pm
Posts: 1910
If anyone has ever lamented the lack of subtlety in the volume increase/decrease increments, I've found out a useful tip:
If you hold down Opt+Shift when also pressing the volume up / down buttons, it changes in 1/3 steps instead of whole steps.

_________________
"If it ain't broke, we can fix it" (© Tim Cook, Jonny Ive)

Core i5 2011 21.5" iMac 12,1 2.5 GHz 12GB RAM OS X 10.9.5


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 12:20 pm 
Online

Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:07 pm
Posts: 1237
Location: In a turkey shed.
MacBiter wrote:
If anyone has ever lamented the lack of subtlety in the volume increase/decrease increments, I've found out a useful tip:
If you hold down Opt+Shift when also pressing the volume up / down buttons, it changes in 1/3 steps instead of whole steps.

1/4 steps unless it's different in other OS's

_________________

iMac 27" (2010) i7 2.93 GHz quad core OSX 10.13
13" (2011) Macbookpro OSX 10.10.3
15" (2017) Macbookpro OS X 10.13.6
iPhone 5S iOS11
Original iPad wifi


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 4:36 pm
Posts: 1363
Location: Warrington
Useful. Thanks, MacBiter.

_________________
Image
Home: PPC Mac Mini, 10.4.11, Intel Mac Mini 10.6.8, MacBook Pro(mid 2012): 12Gb, 10.12.6, White MacBook 10.8.4
iPhone 5S, iOS 11.3 Vodafone PAYG


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 9:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 12:25 pm
Posts: 1910
Paw wrote:
MacBiter wrote:
If anyone has ever lamented the lack of subtlety in the volume increase/decrease increments, I've found out a useful tip:
If you hold down Opt+Shift when also pressing the volume up / down buttons, it changes in 1/3 steps instead of whole steps.

1/4 steps unless it's different in other OS's

You're right of course.

_________________
"If it ain't broke, we can fix it" (© Tim Cook, Jonny Ive)

Core i5 2011 21.5" iMac 12,1 2.5 GHz 12GB RAM OS X 10.9.5


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 3:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:22 pm
Posts: 2030
Location: S.W. Wales
I'm sure you all know this.

Safari 12 has been annoying me for a while with it displaying the wrong favicon on tabs, but just for one site. Somehow, the Amazon favicon had overwritten the real one. I've been trying to cure this on and off and searches were inconclusive. I would have asked but it is a new function of 12, apparently. I have seen it mentioned as a bug.

Today I located ~/Library/Safari/Favicon Cache and deleted it (with Safari closed). Bosh! The job's a good'un.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 295 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 16, 17, 18, 19, 20

Board index » General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 

HTML tutorial

cron