Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ    Donate    Amazon Affiliate

Board index » Technical Help




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 3:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:25 pm
Posts: 338
Location: The Scottish Highlands
Hi - suddenly found Get iPlayer Automator has stopped working for me. Trying any programme gives me the following error:

Image

GIA version 1.8.7, with Mavericks 10.9.5 on a Mac mini 6,2. Nothing else changed with my configuration as far as I know and, of course, I am in the UK and it was working a few days ago!

Have the Beeb changed something and broken GIA again? Anybody else having problems?

_________________
Martin Everyone is entitled to my opinions.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 4:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 5140
Location: Cumberland
Same here I'm afraid.

I have GIA version 1.8.7, Mavericks 10.9.5, Mac Mini 6,1

Image

It also worked for me last time I used it a couple of weeks ago.

But SS-GB does play in Safari, and I also tried "Use current webpage" in GIA, but that didn't make any difference, it reports the same error as yours in any case, for three other random programs as well.

_________________
......................1952
...............Effie Madge Mabel Biddie
...................See them on the beach
......................Or in New York City

.............Tina Louise & Hazel & Mavis
Can you name, name, name, name them all today
Can you name, name, name, name them all today

......................


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:25 pm
Posts: 338
Location: The Scottish Highlands
Bu**er! I recall hearing that GIA is no longer under development/maintenance updates - or did I dream that?

I have submitted a Feedback/Bug Report to the developer.

_________________
Martin Everyone is entitled to my opinions.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 6:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 5140
Location: Cumberland
Unable to download iPlayer programmes (GiA broken by BBC changes)

Quote:
thomasp132 opened this issue a day ago · 1 comment

When I try to download programmes from iPlayer, the download fails and I get the following error in the logs. The programme can be watched on iPlayer.

I'm using version 1.8.7 of Get iPlayer Automator, on OSX 10.11.6. It seemed to work fine last week, and nothing to my knowledge has changed.

"INFO: Loading proxy settings...
INFO: No proxy to load
INFO: Proxy load complete.
INFO: No proxy will be used

AppController: Starting Downloads

Downloading Show 1/1:

BBC Download (ID=b08jns7r): Downloading Robot Wars: Series 9 - Episode 2
INFO: pid found in cache
5367: Robot Wars: Series 9 - Episode 2, BBC Two, , default
INFO: 1 Matching Programmes
WARNING: Could not download programme metadata from http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b08jns7r.xml
ERROR: Failed to get version pid metadata from iplayer site
BBC Download (ID=b08jns7r): Robot Wars: Series 9 - Episode 2 Failed

AppController: Downloads Finished"

Quote:
dinkypumpkin commented 23 hours ago • edited

The BBC has removed some data sources necessary for get_iplayer to work. The problem also affects programme indexing and cache refresh. It may be a temporary situation, but there is no way to know for sure what they are doing. For the moment, just don't use GiA for iPlayer programmes (ITV programmes shouldn't be affected). There will be an announcement here if/when the BBC data returns.

EDIT: Thread locked to avoid me-toos and hijackers.

_________________
......................1952
...............Effie Madge Mabel Biddie
...................See them on the beach
......................Or in New York City

.............Tina Louise & Hazel & Mavis
Can you name, name, name, name them all today
Can you name, name, name, name them all today

......................


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 6:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:25 pm
Posts: 338
Location: The Scottish Highlands
Great news! The developers are aware and active, and hopefully working on a fix.

_________________
Martin Everyone is entitled to my opinions.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 12:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:12 pm
Posts: 123
Location: Loire Valley nr Blois
GIA does not work as the PID is missing. It means using the iPlayer download or watch direct.

Does anyone know if there is any other app that can download TV to iTunes? I tried Google but came up with lots of old out of date solutions mainly aimed at Win OS's

Also when watching a through iPlayer and Apple TV, on an LG TV it does not fill the whole frame, any answers to that.

Posted on other GIA problem post.

_________________
13" MacBook Pro 2.3GHz White/silver i5 iPad Air2 64GB wi-fi with Blue leather Apple case.White/silver iPhone 6 16GB in a silver case. (Wife's)
Rose GoldiPhone SE 16GB in an unknown make bookform case
Apple TV


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:25 pm
Posts: 338
Location: The Scottish Highlands
GIA appears to be working again. Many thanks to the developers!!

_________________
Martin Everyone is entitled to my opinions.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:16 pm
Posts: 3
The GIA is still not working for me... And the usual link to the developers' page for the program also seems dead... :( http://tom-tech.com/iplayer_automator/i ... mator.html

Anyone else got more positive news on this invaluable program? :?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 7:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:21 am
Posts: 1246
Looks like it's gone again. iPlayer dens must be working hard to make it difficult for apps like GIA! Gutted!

_________________
 iMac 21.5", 2.7GHz i5, 1TB Fusion Drive, 16GB RAM, 10.13
 iPod Shuffle 2nd Gen (Product) 1GB
 iPhone 6s, Space Grey, iOS11, 64GB
 Apple TV 4, 32GB
 Apple TV 3
 Watch Nike Edition, 42MM
Raspberry Pi 3b/Retropie 4.1


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 12:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:16 pm
Posts: 3
DanielMoore wrote:
Gutted!

Same here! :cry:


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:21 am
Posts: 1246
Actually, looks like an issue their end: I submitted a bug report, but it failed to connect so wouldn't send. Hopefully they resolve it fairly soon!

_________________
 iMac 21.5", 2.7GHz i5, 1TB Fusion Drive, 16GB RAM, 10.13
 iPod Shuffle 2nd Gen (Product) 1GB
 iPhone 6s, Space Grey, iOS11, 64GB
 Apple TV 4, 32GB
 Apple TV 3
 Watch Nike Edition, 42MM
Raspberry Pi 3b/Retropie 4.1


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 7:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:25 pm
Posts: 338
Location: The Scottish Highlands
Not working for me either. :-( I see the version at SourceForge is now "1.8.8-pre":

https://sourceforge.net/projects/getiplayerauto/

- maybe a pre-release of a new version? (I have 1.8.7 at the moment.)

_________________
Martin Everyone is entitled to my opinions.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 5:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:21 am
Posts: 1246
I've had a go on 1.8.8 and it doesn't want to know either. Interestingly, 1.8.8. started updating ITV indexes so whether they're incorporating ITV back into GIA I don't know. Does seem to be a network issue though: can't even check the app for updates, tells me to try again later.

_________________
 iMac 21.5", 2.7GHz i5, 1TB Fusion Drive, 16GB RAM, 10.13
 iPod Shuffle 2nd Gen (Product) 1GB
 iPhone 6s, Space Grey, iOS11, 64GB
 Apple TV 4, 32GB
 Apple TV 3
 Watch Nike Edition, 42MM
Raspberry Pi 3b/Retropie 4.1


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 8:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:25 pm
Posts: 338
Location: The Scottish Highlands
DanielMoore wrote:
.....Interestingly, 1.8.8. started updating ITV indexes so whether they're incorporating ITV back into GIA I don't know.....

Just FYI: ITV has been working for me on 1.8.7 - and still is today. It's only BBC (iPlayer) that's stopped for me.

_________________
Martin Everyone is entitled to my opinions.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 9:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 8:13 am
Posts: 1805
Location: South Midlands
I'm still on 1.8.7 and it did not update indexes just now. Tried to update the app itself and got "An error occurred in retrieving update information. Please try again later," with a "Cancel update" button, so hopefully it's being worked on.

Tried "Current webpage" and it loaded the programme in but then I got "Status - Download failed - Show name - Unkown: PID not found". The PID shown in GIA window does match that in the Safari web address, b06b36q3 (Timeshift - A Very British Map).

Guess we can only wait and hope :)

_________________
If only we could put an extra memory stick in our heads as we get older....
Neil
27in iMac mid-2011, 3.1 GHz Intel Core i5, OS10.8.5 (Mountain Lion); 15in MacBook Pro, 2010 OS 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Board index » Technical Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 

HTML tutorial