Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ    Donate    Amazon Affiliate

Board index » Technical Help




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:21 am
Posts: 1246
I know it's a free app so should be grateful for what I have managed to get out of it thus far (it was my saviour pre-fibre!), but I really do hope they fix it: I have a small data plan, so on a journey, being able to load stuff onto the iPhone through iTunes is a life saver!

_________________
 iMac 21.5", 2.7GHz i5, 1TB Fusion Drive, 16GB RAM, 10.13
 iPod Shuffle 2nd Gen (Product) 1GB
 iPhone 6s, Space Grey, iOS11, 64GB
 Apple TV 4, 32GB
 Apple TV 3
 Watch Nike Edition, 42MM
Raspberry Pi 3b/Retropie 4.1


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Temporary Fix
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 8:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:21 am
Posts: 1246
After some research, I've found a fix. Whilst I can't vouch for every TV show, it has managed to get the episodes I need. The search function isn't reliable, showing a very small amount of the show (Raa Raa the Noisy Lion) I was looking for, so I just opened each episode I was after and used the 'Use Current Webpage' button. It appears to have worked so far. The other show (The House that £100k Built) returned no results what-so-ever despite being on the iPlayer, but using the 'Use Current Webpage' button did work.

So, open GIA. Open 'Preferences', and on the 'General' tab, head to the bottom and UNCHECK 'Quick Caching'. Close preferences, and go to the 'File' tab and select 'Force Cache Update'. Took a few seconds but did the job.

This works for me, but like I say, better results were achieved using the 'Use Current Webpage'.

_________________
 iMac 21.5", 2.7GHz i5, 1TB Fusion Drive, 16GB RAM, 10.13
 iPod Shuffle 2nd Gen (Product) 1GB
 iPhone 6s, Space Grey, iOS11, 64GB
 Apple TV 4, 32GB
 Apple TV 3
 Watch Nike Edition, 42MM
Raspberry Pi 3b/Retropie 4.1


Last edited by DanielMoore on Mon Apr 17, 2017 8:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 8:43 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:21 pm
Posts: 2565
Location: Paddington, London
Confirmed your fix works here.

_________________
Tony

iMac 27" 3.4Ghz i5 24Gb ram
10.13.1
iPhone 6+ 16Gb SpaceGrey
BT HomeHub 6
BT-Infinity 74MBdown 18MBup.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 8:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:21 am
Posts: 1246
Defcom wrote:
Confirmed your fix works here.


Good to hear!

_________________
 iMac 21.5", 2.7GHz i5, 1TB Fusion Drive, 16GB RAM, 10.13
 iPod Shuffle 2nd Gen (Product) 1GB
 iPhone 6s, Space Grey, iOS11, 64GB
 Apple TV 4, 32GB
 Apple TV 3
 Watch Nike Edition, 42MM
Raspberry Pi 3b/Retropie 4.1


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:25 pm
Posts: 338
Location: The Scottish Highlands
Works for me too - many thanks, Daniel. :)

_________________
Martin Everyone is entitled to my opinions.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 12:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:21 am
Posts: 1246
mooblie wrote:
Works for me too - many thanks, Daniel. :)


Goodo! Nice to make a helpful contribution for a change :lol:

_________________
 iMac 21.5", 2.7GHz i5, 1TB Fusion Drive, 16GB RAM, 10.13
 iPod Shuffle 2nd Gen (Product) 1GB
 iPhone 6s, Space Grey, iOS11, 64GB
 Apple TV 4, 32GB
 Apple TV 3
 Watch Nike Edition, 42MM
Raspberry Pi 3b/Retropie 4.1


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 1:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 8:13 am
Posts: 1805
Location: South Midlands
Daniel - your contributions are always helpful, educational or informative. Sometimes all three.

And they are always valued. Thank you very much for this one. It's particularly handy because I can add shows to iTunes with 'switchable' subs. Most useful when your hearing is er... not quite what it was :D

_________________
If only we could put an extra memory stick in our heads as we get older....
Neil
27in iMac mid-2011, 3.1 GHz Intel Core i5, OS10.8.5 (Mountain Lion); 15in MacBook Pro, 2010 OS 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 4:36 pm
Posts: 1248
Location: Warrington
That sounds good. I'll have to check it out when I get home.

_________________
Image
Home: PPC Mac Mini, 10.4.11, Intel Mac Mini 10.6.8, MacBook Pro(mid 2012): 12Gb, 10.11.5, White MacBook 10.8.4
iPhone 5S, iOS10 Vodafone PAYG


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 11:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:16 pm
Posts: 3
Quote:
DanielMoore So, open GIA. Open 'Preferences', and on the 'General' tab, head to the bottom and UNCHECK 'Quick Caching'. Close preferences, and go to the 'File' tab and select 'Force Cache Update'. Took a few seconds but did the job.

This works for me, but like I say, better results were achieved using the 'Use Current Webpage'.


You beauty! :P

Works like a charm :tu: Thanks so much DanielMoore!

(In fact, works just as well with the 'Use Current Webpage' button as with the 'enter title' approach.)

Brilliant!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 4:36 pm
Posts: 1248
Location: Warrington
Not working for ITV for me. ITV has also disappeared from the "Items to Cache" list in Preferences.

_________________
Image
Home: PPC Mac Mini, 10.4.11, Intel Mac Mini 10.6.8, MacBook Pro(mid 2012): 12Gb, 10.11.5, White MacBook 10.8.4
iPhone 5S, iOS10 Vodafone PAYG


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:25 pm
Posts: 338
Location: The Scottish Highlands
Yes, not working on ITV for me either. I use Chrome to find the programme/URL and now get the message:

Image

Working for BBC still, though.

_________________
Martin Everyone is entitled to my opinions.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:12 pm
Posts: 123
Location: Loire Valley nr Blois
Today it's not working, iplayer has changed the way the program appears when you hit the red symbol. GIA cannot find the PID.

Have to use player downloads which are a lot slower than downloading via GIA.

_________________
13" MacBook Pro 2.3GHz White/silver i5 iPad Air2 64GB wi-fi with Blue leather Apple case.White/silver iPhone 6 16GB in a silver case. (Wife's)
Rose GoldiPhone SE 16GB in an unknown make bookform case
Apple TV


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:25 pm
Posts: 338
Location: The Scottish Highlands
Me too - both ITV Player and BBC iPlayer not working. :(

_________________
Martin Everyone is entitled to my opinions.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:21 am
Posts: 1246
Gutted-me too. I managed to get everything I was after but it's still frustrating. I wonder whats going on?

_________________
 iMac 21.5", 2.7GHz i5, 1TB Fusion Drive, 16GB RAM, 10.13
 iPod Shuffle 2nd Gen (Product) 1GB
 iPhone 6s, Space Grey, iOS11, 64GB
 Apple TV 4, 32GB
 Apple TV 3
 Watch Nike Edition, 42MM
Raspberry Pi 3b/Retropie 4.1


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 9:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:25 pm
Posts: 338
Location: The Scottish Highlands
Anybody found any solutions? I still have neither BBC nor ITV working.
And both bug reports and checks for updates fail too. :(

(Running v 1.8.7 on OSX 10.9.5.)

_________________
Martin Everyone is entitled to my opinions.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Board index » Technical Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 

HTML tutorial