Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ    Donate    Amazon Affiliate

Board index » Technical Help




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 5136
Location: Cumberland
I've won an 8GB 204 pin memory module on eBay and wondering if this will work on my mid 2012 MBP. It is the low-voltage type (1.35v) but was not advertised as such. As far as I can find out it will, but does anybody have any other opinions?

Image

_________________
......................1952
...............Effie Madge Mabel Biddie
...................See them on the beach
......................Or in New York City

.............Tina Louise & Hazel & Mavis
Can you name, name, name, name them all today
Can you name, name, name, name them all today

......................


Last edited by Leewave on Sun Oct 15, 2017 11:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:22 pm
Posts: 1391
Location: S.W. Wales
Personally, if the voltages etc. are the same as what is in now, I'd stick it in and see what happened. It shouldn't harm the laptop (unless it is the wrong shape). If the memory speeds are different, the MBP should just drop to the lower speed on all modules. Remember, I come from a PC hardware background - I did lots of support and system building on that platform. I can't see how the Apple hardware differs hugely except in the OS, and being harder to get at as a user... but now I have that screwdriver mwahahahaaaa!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 5136
Location: Cumberland
Thanks for the reply. It's the same speed, and compatible pin config. The MBP normally takes 1.5V RAM. This is the low-voltage, low power type. I've looked on the web - some people say yes some people say no. I guess I'll find out since I've already paid for it now!

Auction reference

Image

_________________
......................1952
...............Effie Madge Mabel Biddie
...................See them on the beach
......................Or in New York City

.............Tina Louise & Hazel & Mavis
Can you name, name, name, name them all today
Can you name, name, name, name them all today

......................


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 11:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 5136
Location: Cumberland
"Hi Colin, Will this work in a computer which normally takes DDR3, not DDR3L? I have a 2012 MacBook Pro, MacBookPro9,1 and have just realised this is the low-voltage type! You didn't advertise it as such."

I've just had a reply from the seller:

Quote:
Hi David

I believe it will work fine

Basically you can use either. DDR3L is a dual voltage capable memory DIMM, which supports operation at both 1.5V and 1.35V. DDR3L is also pin-compatible with DDR3. ... So in this case the RAM will be running at 1.5 volts as your system does not offer a low voltage option

Colin

_________________
......................1952
...............Effie Madge Mabel Biddie
...................See them on the beach
......................Or in New York City

.............Tina Louise & Hazel & Mavis
Can you name, name, name, name them all today
Can you name, name, name, name them all today

......................


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 11:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:07 pm
Posts: 1100
Location: In a turkey shed.
That's what Crucial list for that model of MBP. http://uk.crucial.com/gbr/en/macbook-pr ... /CT3373654

_________________
G4 Powermac Quicksilver Dual 800MHz OSX 10.5.8
iMac 27" i7 2.93 GHz quad core OSX 10.12.6
13" Macbookpro OSX 10.10.3
17" Macbookpro OS X 10.12.6
iPhone 5S iOS11
Original iPad wifi


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 11:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 5136
Location: Cumberland
Do they list it for this model?

Crucial wrote:
Crucial 8GB DDR3L-1600 SODIMM Memory for Mac
Upgrade for: Apple MacBook Pro (13-inch and 15-inch, Mid 2012)


- so they do, and it's the 1.35V L type as well.

I thought Crucial never listed anything that Apple didn't recommend - and Apple only recommend 2 × 4GB as maximum. Mactracker says 16 GB maximum.

Well so far things are looking good! I'll keep you posted when I get it.

_________________
......................1952
...............Effie Madge Mabel Biddie
...................See them on the beach
......................Or in New York City

.............Tina Louise & Hazel & Mavis
Can you name, name, name, name them all today
Can you name, name, name, name them all today

......................


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:07 pm
Posts: 1100
Location: In a turkey shed.
Crucial are saying max RAM of 16GB
Crucial wrote:
Your Apple MacBook Pro (13-inch and 15-inch, Mid 2012)
system specs as shipped

memory
Maximum Memory:16GB
Slots:2 (2 banks of 1)
*Not to exceed manufacturer supported memory.

_________________
G4 Powermac Quicksilver Dual 800MHz OSX 10.5.8
iMac 27" i7 2.93 GHz quad core OSX 10.12.6
13" Macbookpro OSX 10.10.3
17" Macbookpro OS X 10.12.6
iPhone 5S iOS11
Original iPad wifi


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 5136
Location: Cumberland
Quote:
Can I install DDR3L RAM in a MBP which supports DDR3 RAM?

Apparently, yes! :D

Image

Image

Fitted in five minutes. Including a little bit of a clean with the vacuum cleaner and an extension plastic tube.
Mine was infinitely more dirty than yours, loofah! Well - it even had biscuit crumbs in it. :shock:


Now to run an extensive memory test on it.

Done after 50 mins. All passed :)

Image

_________________
......................1952
...............Effie Madge Mabel Biddie
...................See them on the beach
......................Or in New York City

.............Tina Louise & Hazel & Mavis
Can you name, name, name, name them all today
Can you name, name, name, name them all today

......................


Last edited by Leewave on Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 12:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:22 pm
Posts: 1391
Location: S.W. Wales
Vacuum cleaners are not recommended whether there is any kind of nozzle. The air being sucked in can produce an electrical charge and the static can jump and damage electronic parts. Can - not will.

I have always used a vacuum in the past and gotten away with it (no meddling kids). I only did air this time to see what the fuss was about - and Apple hardware costs too much for me to risk. Blowing rocks compared to sucking (in this context). Airflow in a MBP is just about adequate rather than good.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 5136
Location: Cumberland
Yes I know about static electricity build up. In this case I used a small-ish plastic tube loosely placed down the vacuum intake so the actual amount of suction at the end of it is quite low - just enough to remove the clumps of dust. Anyway, nothing got fried. I got away with it - again!

_________________
......................1952
...............Effie Madge Mabel Biddie
...................See them on the beach
......................Or in New York City

.............Tina Louise & Hazel & Mavis
Can you name, name, name, name them all today
Can you name, name, name, name them all today

......................


Last edited by Leewave on Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:22 pm
Posts: 1391
Location: S.W. Wales
I know I will do it again. I realise you flyboys know about static but not everyone does (is why I mentioned it). Anyway, RAM successful.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 5136
Location: Cumberland
Cheers!

And I somehow managed to avoid losing the plastic tube into the vacuum cleaner!

Hopefully Safari (The Memory Hog) will no longer be able to guzzle everything, that's the main reason I wanted to upgrade. My other two Mac Minis also have 8GB but don't suffer from memory overload at all really, but then I don't use Safari so extensively with them. It's only Safari that does it. And it's a bitch with modern websites and all.

_________________
......................1952
...............Effie Madge Mabel Biddie
...................See them on the beach
......................Or in New York City

.............Tina Louise & Hazel & Mavis
Can you name, name, name, name them all today
Can you name, name, name, name them all today

......................


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

Board index » Technical Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 

HTML tutorial