Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ    Donate    Amazon Affiliate

Board index » Technical Help




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:12 pm
Posts: 133
Location: Loire Valley nr Blois
The imageFormula P20811 scanner is not happy under HS, emailed Canon who suggested deleting the image capture TWAIN file and Capture On Touch file and re downloading them. It does not resolve the problem of the app crashing and or hanging (beachball spins for about 30-50 seconds) before opening.

Canon say that they will have an update for HS but no time scale as yet.

As I have quite a lot of documents I need to scan this urgently this is a b*g*r.

_________________
13" MacBook Pro 2.3GHz White/silver i5 iPad Air2 64GB wi-fi with Blue leather Apple case.White/silver iPhone 6 16GB in a silver case. (Wife's)
Rose GoldiPhone SE 16GB in an unknown make bookform case
Apple TV


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 1:44 pm
Posts: 408
Location: Warwickshire
Can’t help you with the Canon software but have you considered scanning via Notes on your iPhone or iPad (very effective) or buying a scanning app? I use Scanner Pro on both my iPhone and iPad and that too works very well. Might sort you out in the short term.

_________________
MacBook Pro Retina 13 inch Late 2013 High Sierra
iPad Pro 128Gb
iPhone 5SE 64Gb
Apple TV4
Apple Extreme
plus several other Macs around the house


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:34 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 7:51 pm
Posts: 6802
Try scanning through Preview.

_________________
I'm never wrong, I'm just less right on occasions.

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:07 pm
Posts: 1129
Location: In a turkey shed.
+1 for Scanner Pro on iPhone.

_________________
G4 Powermac Quicksilver Dual 800MHz OSX 10.5.8
iMac 27" i7 2.93 GHz quad core OSX 10.12.6
13" Macbookpro OSX 10.10.3
17" Macbookpro OS X 10.13.2
iPhone 5S iOS11
Original iPad wifi


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:17 pm
Posts: 172
Location: Covington, Washington, USA
Have you tried Image Capture?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:09 am
Posts: 37
I long ago stopped using my scanner's software. I also have a Canon scanner. I use Image Capture.
It has basic functions, but one can always use another image-editing app for fine work. For documents, nothing else is needed.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 8:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:12 pm
Posts: 133
Location: Loire Valley nr Blois
Thanks for all your suggestions, I can't get Image Capture to recognise the scanner. Tried connecting before opening I C, and also connecting after opening IC. Scanner preferences does not show it.

_________________
13" MacBook Pro 2.3GHz White/silver i5 iPad Air2 64GB wi-fi with Blue leather Apple case.White/silver iPhone 6 16GB in a silver case. (Wife's)
Rose GoldiPhone SE 16GB in an unknown make bookform case
Apple TV


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:09 am
Posts: 37
My Canon USB-powered scanner needs the power from a powered hub; a non-powered one will not drive it. Could this be your issue?

Image Capture has worked for me with several versions of the OS. I'm not, however, on High Sierra.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 5200
Location: Cumberland
It doesn't show up in scanner preferences. When a suitable scanner is connected it will be listed in Image Capture.

_________________
......................1952
...............Effie Madge Mabel Biddie
...................See them on the beach
......................Or in New York City

.............Tina Louise & Hazel & Mavis
Can you name, name, name, name them all today
Can you name, name, name, name them all today


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:09 am
Posts: 37
And the scanner must be connected first, with Image Capture launched after that. At least, that's my experience. Even doing a "re-scan" to detect a scanner doesn't work! It needs to be done in that order.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 12:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 12:25 pm
Posts: 1550
Most people online who talk about scanner problems all seem to agree that VueScan (Hamrick) solved their problems.

_________________
"If it ain't broke, we can fix it" (© Tim Cook, Jonny Ive)

Core i5 2011 21.5" iMac 12,1 2.5 GHz 12GB RAM OS X 10.9.5


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 3:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:25 pm
Posts: 346
Location: The Scottish Highlands
+1 for Vuescan. https://www.hamrick.com

_________________
Martin Everyone is entitled to my opinions.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 11:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:12 pm
Posts: 133
Location: Loire Valley nr Blois
Just installed the 10.13.2 update and the scanner now works as expected, except it seems a little slow in passing the documents through.

Still no sign of a Canon update.

_________________
13" MacBook Pro 2.3GHz White/silver i5 iPad Air2 64GB wi-fi with Blue leather Apple case.White/silver iPhone 6 16GB in a silver case. (Wife's)
Rose GoldiPhone SE 16GB in an unknown make bookform case
Apple TV


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 3:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 9:17 pm
Posts: 1022
I have the Canon MP640 which has been an extremely trusty machine for several years.

I use Preview for my scanning and it works a treat.

Lorimer

_________________
Mid '09 MacBook Pro 2.66ghz, 500gb SSD; OS 10.10.4; 11" MacBook Air 128gb;1 TB Time Capsule; iPhone 5s, 64gb; 13" 2012 MBA


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

Board index » Technical Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 

HTML tutorial