Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ    Donate    Amazon Affiliate

Board index » Technical Help




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 2:49 pm
Posts: 17
Is it possible to have more than one library for Photos with the option to select one from a list?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:22 pm
Posts: 1519
Location: S.W. Wales
Not something I do, but a quick search found several results. Is this what you mean?

https://www.imore.com/how-create-multiple-libraries-photos-os-x

Sorry if I misunderstood.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 2:49 pm
Posts: 17
Thanks very much - just what I wanted.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 5200
Location: Cumberland
Quote:
Unfortunately, there isn't a one-step way from within Photos to migrate pictures and videos to the new library. So you'll need to export the content you want to use in the new library, then import them back in once you've opened the new library.


But that may not be particularly helpful. Exporting your photos and importing them into a second library is all very well, it is time-consuming and newly imported photos would lose any structure you may already have. You would then have to re-organise them as you like - which of course is certainly possible, but is destructive of the organisation you have already set up.

Here's another idea.

:idea: If you want to split up an existing library into one or more parts, rather than just add another empty library: Go to Finder - click on the Photo library (inside your Pictures folder by default) and press Duplicate. That will add a second internally identical library, but distinguished from the original by a suffix to it's name.

Then using the Option key method, open each Photo Library in turn - and then delete those photos (or collections of photos) that you intend to keep the other one. You'll have to do that for both libraries, each in turn. Then you can rename each library to be more representative of what they contain.

_________________
......................1952
...............Effie Madge Mabel Biddie
...................See them on the beach
......................Or in New York City

.............Tina Louise & Hazel & Mavis
Can you name, name, name, name them all today
Can you name, name, name, name them all today


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 3:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 2:49 pm
Posts: 17
Thank you Leewave. I will use that idea and as you say it should save a lot of time and hassle. Happy New Year!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 2:49 pm
Posts: 17
Hi Leewave - I've successfully duplicated Photos library but I have one odd result: after I choose a library I find that the Finder window has been deleted where I Option-double-clicked Photos. Is this normal?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 3:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 5200
Location: Cumberland
I don't know. Actually I don't really understand your question - and what OS are you on?

If you could describe it in more detail I'll have a think, but there may be other people on the forum who know your OS better than I do and could chip in here. I stuck with Mavericks, if you're on Sierra, some things might might be different - but I don't know what the problem is yet!

If it's a case of selecting a library - don't you do that from within Photos? I don't know how it works actually, I thought you just double-clicked to open the different library while holding the option key down. If you are on Sierra, I do actually have an installation of that, I'll play around once I can understand the problem.

From the link supplied by Luther, this is what they say

How to create a new library for Photos for Mac
1. Hold down the Option key on your keyboard.
2. Double-click on Photos.
3. - then choose an existing one from the list, surely :?:

Image

_________________
......................1952
...............Effie Madge Mabel Biddie
...................See them on the beach
......................Or in New York City

.............Tina Louise & Hazel & Mavis
Can you name, name, name, name them all today
Can you name, name, name, name them all today


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 4:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:22 pm
Posts: 1519
Location: S.W. Wales
obt's on 10.10.5 Yosemite, according to the profile information.

Something else I just tried is select a batch of photos, then right click and Add to > New Album. The pics then appear separated out and I named the albums. The pics all stay in the whole picture but then I could pick the album in the left frame, so essentially a filter, I'm guessing.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 2:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 5200
Location: Cumberland
I haven't used the application Photos really at all, except since today! I have been used to iPhoto which actually works in a somewhat different way. Apple seem to have significantly changed the way the application Photos handles images. I can't discuss it as I don't know anything about it really. :)

_________________
......................1952
...............Effie Madge Mabel Biddie
...................See them on the beach
......................Or in New York City

.............Tina Louise & Hazel & Mavis
Can you name, name, name, name them all today
Can you name, name, name, name them all today


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 12:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 2:49 pm
Posts: 17
Please disregard my last post about losing the Finder window. I did not realise that if you option-double-click the Photos icon in the dock the window for choosing a library would load. It does load but behind other window(s) and I did not see it. BTW - what a daft name for the application.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 2:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 4:04 pm
Posts: 2
"BTW - what a daft name for the application."

Can I ask what name for what application is "daft?" Just curious.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

Board index » Technical Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 

HTML tutorial

cron